Saturday 2nd April 2022

Morning

Up 08 15. Woke at 04 30 approx; broken sleep from 06 00 approx. Breakfast : coffee; granola.

Tested two cream paint samples. Still learning : was not obvious when I made my selection that ‘Earth Cream’, or whatever it was called, would have a pink hue. Lesson seems to be to take test cards home for shortlisting, and samples for final selection.

Met friend down at the River Avon for tea – the Western Riverside as I think it is called – who presented me with a cinnamon bun and birthday gift. Another friend called to ask whether I wanted to join him for a day at Dundas Aqueduct on the Kennet and Avon canal – but I couldn’t make it in time.

Afternoon

Lunch : fried egg and rice.

Walked to Lidl for main shop. Messenger bag full and too much weight on a narrow shoulder strap; carried madeleines in left hand. Walked back via cobbler to collect shoes which I carried in spare hand. Glad to get home. Backpack would be easier going in future. In meantime, can wear running shoes for the weekly visit.

Tea : black tea and shortbread.

Put provisions away.

Evening

Friend called to see if I wanted to join him for a drink at the Bell. Was in two minds and decided to venture down to Waitrose in overcoat, wool jacket, scarf etc. Still too cold to sit outside. Emerged from shop with reduced Apple Pie and single cream and decided on Bell – which was busy – where we met two of his friends.

Supper : share of two pizzas (courtesy friend).

Ended up eating the pie with a whisky at friend’s apartment later.

Home to bed.